More consistent GUI, and updates to the SoundMenu


Screenshot was updated on 2012-09-26 to show the final design.
Today I completely reworked KMix’s communication infrastructure. Changes like Volume level, Master control, and the options from the configuration dialog are now transported consistently to all GUI elements.  Main window, Dock, Dock Popup (see image) and OSD all need to be informed, and doing this is now easy and extensible.

Additionally I addressed comments  from yesterdays Post about the Sound Menu. I added a screenshot, so you can compare it yourself with the one in yesterdays Post.

21 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Soul Kim on September 24, 2012 at 11:17 pm

    Thank you for this progress. It looks just fine now.
    I wish some day KMix goes plasmoid.
    Thanks again for your work.
    Soul.

    Reply

  2. Posted by lhugs on September 25, 2012 at 6:38 am

    Nice thank you

    Reply

  3. Posted by Pascal on September 25, 2012 at 7:41 am

    One thing that I didn’t notice yesterday, when I look at the screenshot I instantly think that the slider beside Amarok is the track progress/controller bar. It just looks too much like inside Amarok. I must say I don’t know exactly how to fix it. It’s because there is the 3 controller buttons under that are evenly distributed along it. Perhaps grouping them next to the amarok logo would help.
    Am I the only one who see this?

    Reply

    • Yes, it might be a bit confusing when you see it first. But one gets acquainted too it soon. I agree that GUI optimizations can always be done, but I am no expert in GUI design, so I will simply wait for contributions.

      Reply

  4. Is this in master or some branch?

    Reply

  5. Posted by Florian Reinhard on September 25, 2012 at 10:34 am

    Whatabout a level-meter which displays the actual output output level? I think this is implemented in some gnome pulseaudio application.

    Reply

  6. Posted by nowardev on September 25, 2012 at 11:50 am

    it should be a plasmoid veromix is better in my eyes expecially becasue you can even add effect you mic … like an equalizer

    Reply

  7. Posted by Lionel Chauvin on September 25, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    What is the difference between “Built-in Audio Analog Stereo” and “Speaker” ?
    From a user point of view, I only care about plugged devices (speakers, headphone, microphone) not about audio card’s inputs/ouputs.

    Reply

  8. Posted by krakensmack on September 25, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    Son, I am disappoint. It was simple. I needed to change sound volume – I had one slider – I used it. Done.

    Now I want to make sound volume higher. I click on KMix icon and… whut?! Can you explain which slider shoud I use? What’s the difference between ‘audio analog stereo’ device and ‘speaker’? Why the hell should I know the difference? Why I simply cannot change sound volume?

    Moreover, it’s not clear to me at first look, what do the 1, 2, 3, 4 buttons do. Neither at the second one.
    And maybe if I have one sound card, there is no need for the text at the top, explainig which sound card is being configured (I have only one)? Or maybe some more human-readable text can be used like ‘sound volume control’?
    Slider for Amarok sound volume is not aligned with speaker icon on its right side, as it’s done in both sound control sections above.

    Reply

    • Please read the other comments before getting rude. “Why the hell” (quoting you) can’t you do that – I am disappointed in you.

      Reply

      • Posted by krakensmack on September 26, 2012 at 6:15 pm

        As I was writing that, there were almost no comments here. Although I didn’t notice similar comments in previous post, covering issues mentioned by me. Sorry if I used too rude words, but non-technical person dealing with such complicated interface for quite simple task would IMHO describe it in even more rude way and then throw your app away. Anyway, good to know I’m not the only one who noticed some problems here :)

  9. Posted by markg85 on September 25, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    Hi,

    Looking better already though still a (minor) issue :)
    I would put app icon and volume icon from amarok the same as those from speaker and the card. Right now the isonc in amarok are pushed down a bit which makes it look inconsistent.

    Good job so far!

    Cheers,
    Mark

    Reply

  10. I know its easy to say, but why not do these improvements on the plasmoid version? Just curious to know if its a technical limitation (of qml, etc)?

    Reply

  11. Posted by BSmith1012 on September 27, 2012 at 4:35 am

    The plasmoid version you’re referring too is Veromix

    http://kde-look.org/content/show.php?content=116676

    Which is a cool idea, but a slightly tacking looking UI.

    About your work and screenshots.

    I personally prefer your previous horizontal version better, and I think most people will as well, but you would need to remove the icons and instead have a mute volume icon on the left, and a full sound volume icon on the right of the volume control lines. That way even less experienced users could see which direction to slide to increase or decrease the volume. Also the profile buttons are too much a niche control. I can see how they could be useful for some people, but they should be moved into either a right click context menu or maybe into the configurations somewhere.

    Reply

  12. Posted by BSmith1012 on September 30, 2012 at 5:42 am

    Here’s a mockup I created by editing your screenshot image. I think this would look and work really well as a simple and clean volume interface.

    I also created this one that has a thumbnail generated from the currently playing album

    As far as how I see it working, it should be similar to the current behavior where clicking the far left speaker will mute the volume and clicking the track or the right speaker will move the volume in steps. I hope you like this and that it will help!

    Reply

    • Interesting mockups. Showing another icon is interesting. But I wouldn’t make clicking the speakers increase or decrease the volume. It is very counter-intuitive: GUI styleguides would advise not to do that, and I also haven’t seen any mixer behaving like this. Please note that the speaker icon is currently there for muting, just like in the main application. So you would need 3 icons (left, right, mute).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

